Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Pallone Recognizes Outstanding Monmouth County Students at Annual Spring Awards Ceremony

May 7, 2004
Press Release

West Long Branch, NJ --- U.S. Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr. (D-NJ) announced the winners of the 2004 Sixth Congressional District High School Arts Competition, this years Military Service Academy nominees, and the winners of the Congressional Award at a reception at Monmouth Universitys Wilson Hall on Monday.

A total of 72 high school artists from various schools in Monmouth and Middlesex counties participated in this years art competition, which is part of the nationwide program known as "An Artistic Discovery." Local judges chose first, second and third place winners, and also awarded 15 honorable mentions.

Michael Antrim of Red Bank Regional High School was awarded first place and his winning artwork will be displayed for the next year in the corridor in the United States Capitol with other winning pieces from around the nation. Third place went to Erin Chitty of Matawan Regional High School.

Art Competition Honorable Mentions from Monmouth County:

Jibari Daniels and Christian Hefter of Neptune High School

Shawn DeFrance, Kaitlyn Kehoe, Shareen Mahmoud, Colleen Murray, and Lisa Romanski of Matawan Regional High School

Kaitlin McGreevy of Raritan High School

"I have long believed that Congress should play a major role in encouraging the arts," Pallone said. "Here in Central New Jersey, we have a long-standing artistic tradition. This competition provides a forum to help the aspiring young artists of our area gain recognition and exposure. Young artists can gain confidence in themselves and their abilities by displaying their work and having it evaluated and critiqued by knowledgeable judges."

The New Jersey Congressman also honored the candidates he nominated for the Military Academies. Pallone congratulated each for their dedication and wished them all luck in being accepted to their chosen academies. Nominees from Monmouth County are listed below:

Air Force Academy Nominees:

John Daly of Hazlet

Philip Kim of Matawan

Vanessa Nieves of Long Branch

Naval Academy Nominees:

Adam Bachman of Hazlet

Christina Kastner of Morganville

Robert Mayer of Bradley Beach

Matthew White of Long Branch

West Point Military Academy Nominees:

James Daly of Hazlet

John Daly of Hazlet

Christopher Donohue of Ocean

Philip Kim of Matawan

Daniel McLeod of Marlboro

Bo Olsen of Monmouth Beach

Pallone also honored the 2004 Winners of the Congressional Award. Created by his predecessor, the late U.S. Rep. Jim Howard, the Congressional Award recognizes the initiative, achievement and volunteer services of young people. Pallone noted that all of this year's Congressional Award winners are residents of Monmouth County. The winners are listed below:

Gold Congressional Award Winner:

Lindsey Howard of Monmouth Beach

Jamin Patel and Brian Washakowski of Ocean

Georgette Tzatalos of Oakhurst

Silver Congressional Award Winner:

Megan Cartier of Belford

Bronze Congressional Award Winners:

Adam Ardakanian of Ocean

Jonathan Schwartz and Rachel Sprung of Wayside