Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Pallone to Receive Congressional Leadership Award from Firefighters

April 16, 2015
Press Release

WASHINGTON, DCCongressman Frank Pallone, Jr. (NJ-06) will receive the Vincent J. Bollon Congressional Leadership Award from the Professional Firefighters Association of New Jersey at their annual Valor Awards Dinner, today in Jersey City. 

“While I am honored to be recognized for my work in Congress on behalf of firefighters, I am especially thankful to them for all that they do to keep our communities safe,” said Congressman Pallone.  “It is a great honor to work in Congress to help address the staffing, equipment, training and health and safety needs of fire departments, and I will continue to be an advocate for their needs in Washington.”

Congressman Pallone has consistently and successfully advocated for funding and grants to help address the needs of firefighters and fire departments.  For example, he has advocated for increases in the Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response (SAFER) and Assistance to Firefighters Grants (AFG) grant programs.  SAFER provides funding to help pay the costs associated with hiring personnel to maintain safe staffing levels, while AFG grants fund equipment, training and other necessities.  These programs benefit fire departments throughout the country, but are also having a direct and positive impact on Congressman Pallone’s Congressional District, such as a $477,520 SAFER grant to the Perth Amboy Fire Department last year.  In addition, Congressman Pallone is a co-sponsor of the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Reauthorization Act, which would ensure responders and survivors of the 9/11 terrorist attacks on the World Trade Center continue to receive the monitoring and care they need.  The terrorist attacks created a toxic and hazardous environment for rescue and recovery workers, including firefighters, and without Congressional action, the World Trade Center Health Program and the September 11th Victim Compensation Fund will expire in October 2015 and October 2016 respectively.